Hala Azmat

Hala Azmat

  • COMMENTRHB/RM; debut 2012; Ajax, Ontario
  • MORE INFOCricinfo profile

Related News


Canada’s National Women’s Squad For The Mexico Hosted October 18-25, 2021 ICC 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier Announced!

Cricket Canada has announced the Canadian National Squad to participate in the ICC 2022 Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier to be held in Mexico from October 18-25, 2021. 

The fourteen member squad is as follows: 

Kamna Mirchandani (Captain), Divya Saxena (Vice Captain), Hala Azmat, Mukhwinder Gill, Kate Gray, Mahrukh Imtiaz, Krima Kapadia, Miryam Khokhar, Jasmina Oldham , Achini Perera, Hiba Shamshad, Sonali Vig, Sana Zafar, Saniyah Zia.

The squad will be accompanied by three officials, Abigail Rajkumar – Manager, Kulbir Jaswal – Coach and Tejash Patel – Physio.  

Argentina, Brazil and the USA will be the other teams participating in the Mexico hosted seven day tournament which will be played in a home and away round-robin format. The tournament winner will qualify for the 2022 ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier, the top two teams from which will go on to participate in the 2023 ICC T20 Women’s World Cup to be held in South Africa.

Canada’s first match of the tournament will be on October 18 against Argentina. The Canadians will then face their arch-rivals the USA the very next day on October 19 and Brazil two days later on October 21. The Canadians second round matches will be on October 22 versus Argentina, the 24th against the USA and an October 25th final day encounter with Brazil. 

The Canadian team’s batting unit for the tournament will be spearheaded by Miryam Khokhar, the MVP of the recently held 2021 Canadian National Women’s Championships. Khokhar scored 191 runs from just four innings at an average of 95.50 and an impressive 102.14 strike rate during the August 11-15, 2021 Championships held at King City’s Maple Leaf Cricket Club. 

Saniyah Zia who captured 6 wickets at a miserly economy rate of 3.92 in her four 2021 National Championship matches will spearhead the Canadians bowling attack for the Americas Qualifier tournament matches. She will be ably supported by Sonali Vig and Mukhwinder Gill who both had National Championships’ five wicket hauls at economy rates of 5.08 and 5.29 respectively.    

The fourteen members Canadian Squad along with its three accompanying officials will depart for Mexico on Friday October 15, 2021. The squad will return home on October 26, 2021



Cricket Canada announces the team for the ICC Women's Qualifiers Americas 2019. The matches in the tournament will be played as Women's Twenty20 Internationals (WT20Is), with the top team progressing to both the 2019 ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier and the 2020 Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournaments. The qualifier will be played as a best of three matches, with the fixtures being played in Lauderhill, Florida. Following is the team representing Canada.

Mahwish Khan (Captain)
Achini Perera
Amanjit Virk
Chuntell Martin
Habeeba Bader
Hala Azmat
Hiba Shamshad
Kainat Qazi
Kamna Mirchandani
Maliha Baig
Mahrukh Imtiaz
Miryam Khokhar
Monali Patel
Saniyah Zia

Rupert Stephenson - Coach
Durriya Shabbir - Manager

The schedule for the matches is as below:

May 17th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA
May 18th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA
May 19th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA