Miryam Khokhar

Miryam Khokhar

  • COMMENTRHB/RM; debut 2019; Brampton, Ontario
  • MORE INFOCricinfo profile

Related News


Canada’s National Women’s Squad For The Mexico Hosted October 18-25, 2021 ICC 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier Announced!

Cricket Canada has announced the Canadian National Squad to participate in the ICC 2022 Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier to be held in Mexico from October 18-25, 2021. 

The fourteen member squad is as follows: 

Kamna Mirchandani (Captain), Divya Saxena (Vice Captain), Hala Azmat, Mukhwinder Gill, Kate Gray, Mahrukh Imtiaz, Krima Kapadia, Miryam Khokhar, Jasmina Oldham , Achini Perera, Hiba Shamshad, Sonali Vig, Sana Zafar, Saniyah Zia.

The squad will be accompanied by three officials, Abigail Rajkumar – Manager, Kulbir Jaswal – Coach and Tejash Patel – Physio.  

Argentina, Brazil and the USA will be the other teams participating in the Mexico hosted seven day tournament which will be played in a home and away round-robin format. The tournament winner will qualify for the 2022 ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier, the top two teams from which will go on to participate in the 2023 ICC T20 Women’s World Cup to be held in South Africa.

Canada’s first match of the tournament will be on October 18 against Argentina. The Canadians will then face their arch-rivals the USA the very next day on October 19 and Brazil two days later on October 21. The Canadians second round matches will be on October 22 versus Argentina, the 24th against the USA and an October 25th final day encounter with Brazil. 

The Canadian team’s batting unit for the tournament will be spearheaded by Miryam Khokhar, the MVP of the recently held 2021 Canadian National Women’s Championships. Khokhar scored 191 runs from just four innings at an average of 95.50 and an impressive 102.14 strike rate during the August 11-15, 2021 Championships held at King City’s Maple Leaf Cricket Club. 

Saniyah Zia who captured 6 wickets at a miserly economy rate of 3.92 in her four 2021 National Championship matches will spearhead the Canadians bowling attack for the Americas Qualifier tournament matches. She will be ably supported by Sonali Vig and Mukhwinder Gill who both had National Championships’ five wicket hauls at economy rates of 5.08 and 5.29 respectively.    

The fourteen members Canadian Squad along with its three accompanying officials will depart for Mexico on Friday October 15, 2021. The squad will return home on October 26, 2021



Unbeaten Cedar Blues Win August 13-15 2021 Canadian National Women’s Cricket Championships,

An unbeaten record of four wins from as many matches played piloted the Cedar Blues to Championship winning honors at the Friday August 13 to Sunday, August 15, 2021 Canadian National Women’s Championships, played at King City’s Maple Leaf Cricket Club. The Cedar Blues won all four of its matches comprehensively by margins of 75 runs, 7 wickets, 9 wickets and 17 runs against the two other competing teams, the Maple Greens and Orange Oaks. 

The Cedar Blues’ victories were bolstered by Divya Saxena’s aggressive batting. Saxena amassed 140 runs from only three innings batted at an outstanding 70.00 average and a monumental 172.84 strike rate. She was ably supported by Achini Perera whose 99 runs Tournament aggregate, from 3 innings batted, give her a 33.00 average and a 102.06 strike rate.

Mukwinder Gill was the Cedar Blue’s leading bowler, capturing 5 wickets at an average of 12.0 and an economy rate of 5.29. Mahrukh Imtiaz, with 4 wickets at an 11.25 average and 4.09 economy rate also made an outstanding contribution to the Cedar Blues’ bowling. So too did Hiba Hamshad whose 4 wickets were taken at an average of 20.33 and a 4.69 economy rate.

Canadian National player Miryam Khokar was adjudged as the Tournament’s Most Valuable Player for her outstanding batting. Khokar’s four Tournament innings yielded 191 runs at a whopping 95.50 average at a 102.14 strike rate. Khokar recorded scores of 74, 50, 16 and 51 in her four innings, which were also graced by a cumulative total of 35 boundaries.

Besides Khokar and Saxena, the Orange Oak’s Amarpal Kaur was the only other batter with an above 100 run aggregate for the Tournament. Kaur’s four innings aggregate was 118 runs at a 39.33 average and 107.27 strike rate.

The Maple Green’s Saniyah Zia captured the Tournament’s bowling honors. Zia’s Championship leading 6 wickets were taken at a miserly 8.5 average and 3.92 economy rate.

Maple Green’s Maliha Baig was adjudged the Championhips’Best Fielder. Baig featured in a Tournament high 6 dismissals comprised of three caught behinds, two stumpings and one run-out.

Thirty-six of Canada’s best women’s cricketers participated in the three day Championships, which involved the three teams playing against each other in a T20 round-robin match format. Twenty-four of the participating players were Ontario based, while the remaining were gathered from Cricket Canada’s other Member Provinces.

Performances at the August 13-15, 2021 Canadian National Women’s Cricket Championships will subsequently be used by the National Selection Panel to select the Canada’s team to participate in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to be held later this year. Canada will be competing against Argentina, Brazil and the USA with the top team progressing to the 2022 ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament,


Photo Captions: Miryam Khokhar Tournament MVP; 2021 Canadian National Women’s Championships Action!

For further information:

Ingleton Liburd, General Manager Cricket Canada

647 632 4218



Cricket Canada announces the team for the ICC Women's Qualifiers Americas 2019. The matches in the tournament will be played as Women's Twenty20 Internationals (WT20Is), with the top team progressing to both the 2019 ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier and the 2020 Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournaments. The qualifier will be played as a best of three matches, with the fixtures being played in Lauderhill, Florida. Following is the team representing Canada.

Mahwish Khan (Captain)
Achini Perera
Amanjit Virk
Chuntell Martin
Habeeba Bader
Hala Azmat
Hiba Shamshad
Kainat Qazi
Kamna Mirchandani
Maliha Baig
Mahrukh Imtiaz
Miryam Khokhar
Monali Patel
Saniyah Zia

Rupert Stephenson - Coach
Durriya Shabbir - Manager

The schedule for the matches is as below:

May 17th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA
May 18th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA
May 19th 11:00 AM Canada vs USA