Canada’s ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier, Oman 2022 Squad Announced!


Cricket Canada has announced the Canadian National Squad to participate in the Oman hosted ICC 2022 T20 World Cup Qualifier. The fourteen-member squad is as follows:

Navneet Dhaliwal (Captain), Dilon Heyliger, Rishiv Joshi, Jatinder Matharu, Shreyas Moova, Salman Nazar, Rayyan Pathan, Kaleem Sana, Junaid Siddiqui, Ravinderpal Singh, Matthew Spoors, Hamza Tariq, Harsh Thaker, Saad Zafar 


Shahid Ahmedzai, Akash Gill, Rommel Shahzad, Bhupinder Sohal, Kanwarpal Tathgur, Uday Walia, Simranjeet Virk

The squad will be accompanied by five officials: Carlos Ragoonath – Manager, Amrinder Bhinder – Coach, Daulat Khan - Fielding Coach, Khurram Chohan - Bowling Coach and Ankur Sharma - Physio

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier gets underway on 18 February in Oman with the hosts taking on Nepal in the opening game. The event is one of two global qualifiers that together form the final stages of the qualification process for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. 

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A features hosts Oman, Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Philippines, and United Arab Emirates (UAE). Ireland and Oman had qualified for this tournament after being eliminated in the first round of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, whilst Nepal and the UAE booked their slots via their rankings in the ICC MRF Tyres Men’s T20I Team rankings. The other participating teams qualified through regional qualifying tournaments held through the course of last year.

The teams in Qualifier A are divided into two groups of four. Each teamwillplayallthe other teams oncein its group,followed by position classification matches. The two teams that reach the final will advance to the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia later this year.

The Oman-Canadian National team will depart on Wednesday, February 2 for a pre tournament training. They will play two warm-up matches against Germany before beginning their ICC Men’s 2022 T20 World Cup Qualification campaign against the Phillipines on Friday, February 18. 

Other Posts

January 19, 2019