Women's Committee appointed


The Cricket Canada board at their last meeting approved the Terms of Reference and membership of the Cricket Canada Women's Committee, to be chaired by Women's Cricket Coordinator, Durriya Shabbir.

The committee is tasked with:-

- Developing, implementing and delivering programs to encourage the participation of girls and women at all levels; 

- Providing advice and recommendations to the Board on matters affecting girls and women’s participation;

 - Preparing an annual plan and annual budget for board approval; 

- Establishing policies and procedures for women’s cricket; 

- Developing and implementing a plan for recruitment and development of coaches, umpires, support staff for the Women’s and U19 teams

The committee members are:-

Ave Mogan: Cricket Canada Hall of Fame inductee (2014), is credited with establishing and being the co-founder of organised women’s cricket in Toronto, Canada. She was the first female at the age of 17 to participate in the TDCA men’s league in various divisions and skippered Canada’s first-ever national women’s squad in 1996. She also lead the team in 2005 and 2007 and was vice-captain of the North American women’s cricket team in 2003. In 2004, she was decorated Best Women’s Cricket Coordinator in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Americas Region and led the Canadian Women’s cricket squad to their first Americas Women’s Cricket title in 2007. Prior to moving to Canada she was a member of the West Indies Women’s squad from 1977 to 1979.

Sonali Chandok: Sonali moved to Canada from India in 2016 and is based out of Surrey, BC. Her involvement with cricket began as a player in 1985 representing her state of Punjab, Guru Nanak University and North Zone in India. She was employed by Indian Railways as a sports person and served as a coach for the Mumbai Cricket Association. Cricket BC appointed her as the coach for the women’s program in 2019 and she has held that post since. She plays for the West Vancouver Cricket Club (men’s) team and was part of the Women’s squad during the practice tour to Trinidad in 2019.

Jazz Tucker: Jazz was first introduced to cricket in 2001 after she moved to Victoria, BC to attend law school. She joined the Wicket Maidens in 2003/2004 and fell in love with the sport. Jazz moved to St. John’s, NL in October 2004. 15 years later, thanks to the phenomenal support of Cricket NL, her dream came true. Jazz became the coordinator of the women’s programme which commenced in June 2019 and she was appointed to the Cricket NL board as the coordinator/director of women’s programme in October 2019. On November 16, 2019 Jazz and 12 others became the founding members of the Salt Water Sirens, the first women’s cricket club in Newfoundland.

Saima Rizwan: Based in Fort McMurray, Saima has been involved with women’s cricket for the past 5 years as a player, coach and administrator. Her Alberta Women’s Club provides pre-season training, organises tournaments and is actively involved in scouting and recruiting talent. Tremendously passionate about the game, she has represented Alberta in the Western Tournament in 2016 and 2017. She played a key role in organising the Canada Day Cup in Ontario in 2018.

Other Posts

January 19, 2019