skip to Main Content
Prime Minister Of St. Vincent And The Grenadines Dr. Hon. Ralph Gonsalves With Canadian Team

Kavin hits a fabulous fifty !

Match 14 of the St Vincent hosted 2018 Windies U19 50 Over Championships featured Canada taking on Trinidad & Tobago. Having lost their first encounter to the Windward Islands. the Canadians started boldly, winning the toss and electing to bat on a hard surfaced Park Hill pitch that looked ideal for batting.
Canada’s openers Eshan Sensarma and and Benjamin Calitz however failed to capitalize fully on the ideal batting conditions and were soon separated. Calitz was the first to go, caught by Leonardo Julien for 8 off the bowling of Joshua James in the fifth over. Sensarma soon followed caught by Crystian Thurton off Jayden Seales for 2 in the very next over. The further loss of Ravi Sandhu (2) who had top scored for Canada in their previous, tournament opener encounter, against the Windwards left the Canadians struggling at 19-3 after just 8 overs.
Kavian Naresh batted superbly to score a 57 ball 30 before he was fifth out. He featured in a 54 run fifth wicket partnership with Raqib Shamsudeen who’s 34 was made off 70 balls. Once they’d both been dismissed the rest of the batting meekly, The remaining five wickets fell for just 34 runs as Canada was dismissed for 155 in the 38th over, falling well short of their allocated 50 overs.
Bowling for Trinidad Jason Searles had figures of 4-40 off his allotted 10 overs. He was very well supported by Joshua James 3-37 off 8.1. Even more so by Avinash Mahabirsingh, who’s 3 wickets were taken at the cost of just 6 runs in 3 very economical and productive overs.
 Set to make 156 for victory at a required run rate of 3.10 runs per over, Trinidad’s openers Cephas Cooper (71* ) and Navin Bidaisee (67*) made very easy work of their task, comfortably reaching their target in 31.2 overs without being separated to hand the Canadians their second successive loss of the Tournament.
Summarized Scores:
Canada 155 -10 (37.1) K Naresh 50, R Shamsudeen 34, J Searles 4-40 (10), A Mahabirsingh 3-6 (3), J James 3-37 (8.1)
Trinidad 156 -0 (31.2) C Cooper 71*, N Bidaisee 67*
Trinidad won by 10 wickets.
Back To Top